The factory-supported Schubert Motorsport team closed out a challenging season in the ADAC GT Masters championship this weekend, with two races at the Hockenheim circuit in Germany. The team has been competing in the series with two M4 GT3s, one for works drivers Jesse Krohn and Nicky Catsburg and another in the Junior class for Niklas Krutten and Ben Green.

In race one on the final weekend of the season at Hockenheim, Krutten and Green drove their #10 M4 GT3 to a seventh-place overall finish (out of twenty cars) and third place in the Junior class. Krohn and Catsburg had a tire puncture in their #20 M4 GT3 and didn’t finish the race. In race two, Krohn and Catsburg fought back to finish sixth overall after having contact early in the race with another car and serving a penalty, while Krutten and Green finished seventh in the Junior class.

The undisputed highlight of the year for BMW and Schubert Motorsport in the series were overall wins for Green and Krutten in both races at the Red Bull Ring in Austria back in May, while they joined on the podium in second place by Krohn and Catsburg in race two. Those were the only overall podium finishes they had all season. Fourth-place finishes in the Junior class in both races at the Lausitzring by Green and Krutten, a fourth by Green and Krohn at the Sachsenring, and the third for Green and Krutten at Hockenheim was enough to get Ben Green the Junior class drivers’ championship. Krutten missed the Sachsenring races to compete in a European Le Mans race on the same weekend, which is why Green had more points. “Really happy with this achievement in my first year of racing GT3 in Europe,” said Green on social media after the race. “It’s been a really tough year and I’m glad we managed to achieve this. I say ‘we’ because clearly it would not be possible without my teammate Niklas Krutten who would usually joint win this title with me. Thanks also to Team Schubert for their efforts this year.”

Mercedes driver Raffaele Marciello won the overall drivers’ championship while Lamborghini team Emil Frey Racing won the team championship. Schubert Motorsport finished seventh in the team championship. —David Haueter

[Photos courtesy ADAC]



©2024 BimmerLife™

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?