BMW has won the first-ever manufacturer’s championship awarded by the Nürburgring Endurance Series. The award was based on points accumulated across practice sessions and races in all rounds of the series, including the Nürburgring 24. BMW edged out Mercedes for the title.

The win by Rowe Racing and the third-place finish for BMW Team Schnitzer in this year’s 24-hour race contributed to the title, as did a pair of NLS wins by Rowe Racing and Walkenhorst Motorsport.

BMW’s Jens Marquardt said, “Winning the manufacturer’s championship for the Nordschleife races is the icing on the cake of an extremely successful racing season at the “Green Hell” for BMW Motorsport. The Rowe Racing win at the 24-hour race, which marked BMW’s twentieth victory at this iconic race after a ten-year wait, as well as the podium for BMW Team Schnitzer were phenomenal. But our successes in the NLS races were also a lot of fun. Even though they didn’t enter this manufacturer’s championship, I would like to take this opportunity to congratulate all the BMW M customer racing teams once again on their fantastic Nordschleife seasons and numerous NLS title wins with the BMW M4 GT4, BMW M240i Racing, BMW 330i, BMW 325i, and other BMW cars. All told, we witnessed gripping races and amazing duels everywhere.”

Walkenhorst Motorsport also won the NLS Speed Trophy for SP9/GT3 teams, an award sponsored by Yokohama Tire.

Both award were announced in mid-November, well after the finish of the pandemic-shortened 2020 NLS season.—Brian Morgan

[Photos courtesy BMW Motorsport.]



©2024 BimmerLife™

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?