BMW Team RLL will focus on defending its 2020 drivers’, team, and manufacturers’ championships in the IMSA Michelin Endurance Cup, entering its M8 GTEs in the four IMSA WeatherTech Series enduros that count toward the cup, including the races at Daytona, Sebring, Watkins Glen, and Road Atlanta. The team will not contest the other races in the WeatherTech Series.

John Edwards and Jesse Krohn, the current Michelin Endurance Cup champions, will return in car #24 along with Augusto Farfus, who co-drove #24 to its 2020 Daytona win. Two-time DTM champion Marco Wittman will also be on board at Daytona. Bruno Spengler and Connor De Phillippi will return in car #25 along with Philipp Eng. Timo Glock will be added to the driver lineup at Daytona.

BMW NA motorsport manager Victor Leleu said, “Motorsport and specifically an IMSA program have been fundamental to our marketing efforts in North America. This year will see us focus on the four races that compose the Michelin Endurance Cup and the 52 toughest hours in sports car endurance racing. Of course, we would like to see all of our BMW fans at every IMSA venue, but this is the decision we have made in order to ensure a winning future. We look forward to the competition in Daytona, Sebring, Watkins Glen and Road Atlanta.”

Turner Motorsport will run its M6 GT3 in the IMSA GTD class for the entire season with Bill Auberlen and Robby Foley driving, along with Aidan Read in the four Michelin Endurance Cup races and Colton Herta at Daytona. This year’s Rolex 24 will be Turner Motorsport’s 400th race for BMW.

IMSA action begins on January 22–24 with the Roar before the Rolex 24 test days. The Rolex 24 will be run on January 30–31.—Brian Morgan

[Photos courtesy BMW NA.]



©2024 BimmerLife™

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?