Tire Rack BMW CCA Club Racers Sri Haputantri, Patrick Harris, and Krista Williams won the 2019 East Coast Yokohama Challenge Awards at the Peachtree Chapter’s Labor Day Weekend event at Michelin Raceway Road Atlanta.

It is the second year for club racing sponsor Yokohama’s program; last year’s East Coast awards were given at the October Watkins Glen event.

To be eligible for the challenge, racers had to participate in three 2019 Club Racing events in advance of the Road Atlanta weekend. Challenge points, based on performance in the four races at Road Atlanta, were determined by position in class weighted by the number of participants in the class and the weight assigned to each race.

The awards are a $3,000 Yokohama Certificate for first place, a $2,000 certificate for second, and a $1,000 certificate for third. The certificates can be used for Yokohama track or street tires.

D-Mod racer Sri Haputantri won first place in the East Coast Yokohama Challenge.

Haputantri, who had placed second in last year’s East Coast Yokohama Challenge, piloted his D-Modified E36 M3 to class wins in all four races at Road Atlanta. Williams took overall and class wins in the Friday enduro and two Sunday sprints in her C-Modified E46 M3, and Harris won the Spec E46 class in the enduro and the second Sunday sprint in his E46 330i.

Krista Williams won three races at Road Atlanta on her way to third in the Yokohama Challenge.

The Peachtree event, with four points-paying races, drew 49 cars, including thirteen each in the I-Prepared and Spec E46 classes. Race results are posted on the Race Hero app and online. Final results will soon be posted on the BMW CCA Club Racing site.

Yokohama Challenge second place winner Patrick Harris won Spec E46 in two races.

Race co-chairs were Joe Sainato and John Butler. Ty Noles served as competition steward, Todd Massagee served as tech steward, and Larry Fletcher served as timing and scoring steward.

The 2019 west coast Yokohama Challenge will be run on September 7–8 at Sonoma Raceway.—Brian Morgan

[Photo of award winners courtesy Eric Nissen. Patrick Harris was not present for the photo; race co-chairs John Butler and Joe Sainato hold his check in the photo. Other photos courtesy Brian Morgan.]



©2024 BimmerLife™

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?