BMW racers won in the Nürburgring Endurance Series and the British Touring Car Championship, and finished sixth in DTM on a busy race weekend in Europe.

Rowe Racing’s Nick Catsburg and Stef Dusseldorp in the #99 Rowe Racing M6 GT3 won the four-hour Nürburgring Endurance Series (NLS) race on the Nordschleife on August 1. Mikkel Jensen, Christian Krognes, and David Pittard in the #34 Walkenhorst Motorsport M6 GT3 finished second overall and second to the Rowe M6 in the SP 9 class. The SP10 class win went to Yannick Fubrich, David Griessner, and Florian Naumann in the #1 Pixum Team Adrenalin M4 GT4. Team Avia Sorg Rennsport’s Heiko Eichenberg and Moritz Oberheim won the all-M240iRacing Cup 5 class.

In the season opener of the British Touring Car Championship at Donington Park on August 2, Colin Turkington, the defending champion, won race two in the #1 West Surrey Racing 330i M Sport, and his teammate, Tom Oliphant in car #15, finished second. Turkington and Oliphant had finished second and sixth in race one, won by Honda’s Dan Cammish, while Oliphant was ninth and Turkington was tenth in race three, won by Infiniti’s Ash Sutton.

Audi dominated the first round of the 2020 DTM series at Spa Francorchamps, where BMW’s best finishes were sixth for M4 DTM racers Philipp Eng in race one and sixth for Sheldon van der Linde in race two. In race one, won by Audi’s Nico Müller, BMW’s Lucas Auer, Timo Glock, and Jonathan Aberdein finished seventh, eighth, and tenth, respectively. In race two, won by Audi’s René Rast, BMW racers Auer, Aberdein, and Marco Wittmann finished eighth, ninth, and tenth.

In the new DTM Trophy Series, M4 GT4s won both races, with Walkenhorst Motorsport’s Ben Tuck winning race one and FK Performance Motorsport’s Ben Green winning race two.—Brian Morgan

[Photos courtesy BMW Motorsport (Rowe M6 GT3 and Eng M4 DTM) and West Surrey Racing (Turkington 330i M Sport.]



©2024 BimmerLife™

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?