Three Tire Rack BMW CCA Club racers won the 2018 West Coast Yokohama Showdown awards in an event at Thunderhill Raceway on November 10-11.

Ralph Warren in a B-Modified E90 M3 was the first place winner. Vic Pizzino in a C-Modified E46 325i was second, and Julie Wolf in an I-Prepared E36 325is was third.

Warren, Pizzino, and Wolf won their respective classes in all three races at Thunderhill. Pizzino also scored two overall wins; the overall win in the third race went to Henry Schmitt in a GT class M4 GT4.

To be eligible for the Yokohama Showdown racers had to compete in two or more BMW CCA Club Racing events in 2018 prior to the Thunderhill race weekend. The awards were based on performance in the three races run at Thunderhill; racers were awarded points for class positions plus additional points based on the number of cars competing in their class.

The awards were gift certificates for Yokohama race or street tires. The award for first place was $3,000, second was $2,000, and third was $1,000.

The West Coast awards were the second given in a new multi-year partnership between Yokohama and the Tire Rack Club Racing Series; the first were the East Coast Yokohama Showdown awards given at Watkins Glen on October 5-7.



©2024 BimmerLife™

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?